

SALINE COUNTY BOARD OF EQUALIZATION

The regular meeting of the Saline County Board of Equalization opened with the Pledge of Allegiance. The meeting was called to order at 9:15 a.m. on Tuesday, March 3rd, 2020, by Chairperson, Marvin A. Kohout. Present were Stephanie A. Krivohlavek, Philip S. Hardenburger, Janet J. Henning, Kohout and Russ Karpisek, Commissioners, County Clerk Daryl Fikar and Administrative Assistant Tim McDermott.

Notice of said meeting was posted in the County Clerk's office, on the Saline County Website, and published in all county newspapers prior to the meeting, in compliance with State Statutes.

Let the record show that all proceedings are electronically recorded.

Kohout advised those present of the open meetings law posted at the back of the room.

Henning moved to approve the agenda as presented, seconded by Krivohlavek. Voting aye were Karpisek, Kohout, Henning, Hardenburger and Krivohlavek, nays none, motion carried.

Karpisek moved to approve the minutes of the February 18th, 2020 meeting as presented, seconded by Henning. Voting aye were Karpisek, Henning, Kohout and Krivohlavek, abstaining, Hardenburger, nays none, motion carried.

Under correspondence, Fikar reported receiving a notice from the Tax Equalization and Review Commission, detailing new filing fees for filing appeals and petitions.

County Assessor Brandi Kelly presented tax list corrections #2020-10 and 2020-11, pertaining to the south 60 feet of lots 95 and 96 in Friend's R.S. Bentley's addition. The property had previously been under contract, so the taxes were charged to the grantee of the contract. The contract has now been released, so the taxes will now be the responsibility of the original owner. Henning moved to approve the tax list correction #2020-10, seconded by Karpisek. Voting aye were Hardenburger, Henning, Kohout, Krivohlavek and Karpisek, nays none, motion carried. Krivohlavek moved to approve tax list correction #2020-11, seconded by Henning. Voting aye were Krivohlavek, Karpisek, Hardenburger, Henning and Kohout, nays none, motion carried.

Kelly then presented tax list correction #2020-12, pertaining to the south ½ of lot 1195, all of lots 1196 and 1197 and the north ½ of lot 1198 in Dorchester Village. Both of the residents of said property passed away prior to August 15, 2019 and, therefore do not meet the residency requirements to qualify for the 2019 homestead exemption. Henning moved to approve tax list correction #2020-12, seconded by Krivohlavek. Voting ave were Henning, Kohout, Krivohlavek, Karpisek and Hardenburger, nays none, motion carried.

Henning moved to open the public hearing for motor vehicle tax exemptions, seconded by Krivohlavek. Voting aye were Henning, Kohout, Krivohlavek, Hardenburger and Karpisek, nays none, motion carried.

County Treasurer Debbie Spanyers presented a motor vehicle tax exemption application for a 2016 Ford SUV owned by Schoenstatt Sisters of Mary, used exclusively for religious purposes.

Spanyers also presented a motor vehicle tax exemption application from Crete Area Medical Center for a 2019 Honda CRV, used to provide physical therapy services in the surrounding communities.

Henning moved to close the public hearing for motor vehicle tax exemptions, seconded by Hardenburger. Voting aye were Karpisek, Hardenburger, Henning, Kohout and Krivohlavek, nays none, motion carried.

Krivohlavek moved to approve the motor vehicle tax exemption application from Schoenstatt Sisters of Mary. The motion was seconded by Henning. Voting aye were Kohout, Krivohlavek, Karpisek, Hardenburger and Henning, nays none, motion carried.

Henning moved to approve the motor vehicle tax exemption application from Crete Area Medical Center, seconded by Hardenburger. Voting aye were Kohout, Krivohlavek, Karpisek, Hardenburger and Henning, nays none, motion carried.

There being no further business to come before the Board, the meeting was adjourned at 9:29 a.m. The next regular meeting will be on March 17th, 2020, at 9:15 a.m. in the Saline County Commissioners' Room, Court House, Wilber NE.





Daryl Fikar, County Clerk

Janet J. Henning

Marvin A. Kohout, Chairperson

Stephanie Krivohlavek

Philip Hardenburger Russ Karpisek, Vice Chairperson

I, Daryl Fikar, County Clerk in and for Saline County, do hereby certify that the minutes of the February 18th, 2020, meeting were presented and approved as presented.

Stephanie Krivohlavek

Daryl Fikar, County Clerk

Janet J. Henning

Marvin A. Kohout, Chairperson

Philip Hardenburger

Russ Karpisek, Vice Chairperson